Shepway Sports Trust Awards


We had a great night last Wednesday, celebrating the shining stars of our local community at The Grand Hotel in Folkestone.

It was our inaugural awards ceremony and the team worked tirelessly to make sure the night went off without a hitch, from balloons to table plans!

We were humbled by the reactions of all the attendees; winners, runners up, nominees, sponsors and spectators.

Our awards covered a whole range of categories in the Trust’s key areas- schools, clubs, communities and ambassadors. The night ended with Folkestone’s Harry Slater receiving the Sir Roger De Haan Services to Sports award, presented by Trevor Minter OBE DL.

We also asked everyone at the ceremony to tweet us their #ShepwaySelfie, for the chance to win a signed ambassador t-shirt. Congratulations to Dan File and Elham school for the winning snap.

The awards mark another high for the trust, as we were recently honoured to receive the Heart of the Community Award. Voted for by members of the public, it is testament to our local community’s passion for an inclusive sport strategy.

The full list of award winners was as follows: 

Active Communities

Community Sport Project of the Year: Blister Sisters

Innovation Project of the Year: Catch Sports4Kids

Community Volunteer of the Year: Kevin Daly

Young Community Volunteer of the Year: Ben Perez

Facility of the Year: Folkestone Sports Centre

Media Partner of the Year: Folkestone Herald

Outstanding Contribution of the Year: Kenza Bowman

School Sport

Junior Disabled Sportswoman of the Year: Charlotte Saunders

Junior Sportswoman: Lucy Howes

Junior Disabled Sportsman: Scott Broom

Junior Sportsman: Matthew Csiszar

School Games Sports Star: Ashley Mainwaring

School Games Team of the Year: Elham CofE Year 5/6

Primary School of the Year: St. Eanswythe’s CofE

Secondary School of the Year: Harvey Grammar

Primary School Teacher of the Year: Nannette Van der Wall

Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Jon Gardner

School Sports Leader: Cara Shaw

Outstanding Achievement of the Year: St. Eanswythe’s Pop Lacrosse team

Sports Clubs

Rising Disabled Sports Star: Jamie Haynes

Rising Sports Star: Hugh Bernard

Coach of the Year: Barry Pluck

Young Coach of the Year: Truly Capell

Club Volunteer of the Year: David Denyer

Young Club Volunteer of the Year: Leanne Yore

Club of the Year: Folkestone Basketball

Veteran Sportsman of the Year: Ken Pollock

Sportsman of the Year: James Tredwell

Sportswoman of the Year: Lauren Williams

Sir Roger De Haan Award

Sir Roger De Haan Services to Sports Award: Harry Slater

Posted on July 14th, 2015 by Shepway Sports Trust
Posted in: Events